Quick Answer: What Happens To Messages When You Delete Messenger?

What happens if I delete Facebook Messenger?

What Happens When You Deactivate Messenger.

Now that you know how to deactivate Facebook Messenger, no one will be able to see your profile in the app, or send you messages in existing conversations.

And keep in mind that if you delete your Facebook account completely, you will lose access to Messenger as well..

When you deactivate Messenger do your messages disappear?

3 Answers. You actually deactivate it, and once you do that all your comments, likes, shares, post and everything associated with your profile disappears like it never existed. But your message conversation will still be visible on your friend’s inbox just there won’t be your profile picture and link to it.

How do I permanently delete Messenger messages from both sides?

Steps to Delete Facebook Messages From Both SidesOn your phone, tap and hold the message you want to delete.Then select Remove.Tap the Unsend option when asked who you want to remove the message for.Confirm your choice when prompted to do so.More items…•Dec 29, 2020

Does the other person know when you delete a conversation on Messenger?

Once “removed,” the message will not reappear in the draft space. Unfortunately, Facebook will also notify other members of a conversation when this action is taken, essentially calling you out to your conversation partners.

How long does messenger keep deleted messages?

Facebook says it keeps “backup copies for a reasonable period of time” after a deletion, and it says that can be as long as three months. It also says it may retain copies of “some material” from deleted accounts, but removes personal identifiers.

Why can’t I deactivate my Messenger 2020?

First, you need to make sure your main Facebook account is deactivated (You can’t deactivate Messenger alone as far as I’m aware of). After that, open Messenger and tap on your profile image top left next to “Chats”. In the settings, scroll all the way down to Legal & Policies, and tap that.

Will Blocking someone on Facebook delete messages?

Nope. Blocking someone will not delete the conversation thread from any side. In other words, the old conversations will remain in Messenger, and you will be able to read them until you manually delete the chat thread.

Will deleting Messenger app delete messages?

No, you can’t see deleted messages or conversations. Deleting a message permanently removes it from your Chat list. Keep in mind that deleting a message or conversation from your Chat list won’t delete it from the Chat list of the person you chatted with.

When you delete a conversation on Facebook does the other person still have it?

Facebook Help Team Messages that have already been sent cannot be unsent or removed from the recipients inbox. If you delete a message or conversation on your end, this means it will still be available on the recipients account unless they delete it themselves.

How do you see deleted messages on Messenger 2020?

Restore Deleted Messages via Facebook Messenger on Android Open Facebook Messenger on your device and head to your recent conversations. Click on the search bar to search the conversation that you previously archived. Once you find the conversation, simply select it and press Unarchive Message option to unarchive it.

How do I permanently delete Messenger messages?

To delete a conversation in Facebook Messenger using the app, hold down your finger on the conversation and then tap “Delete.” Confirm you want to delete the conversation to delete it permanently.

When you delete a message on messenger does the other person still see it?

You can permanently remove a message that you’ve sent for everyone in the chat, or just hide it from your view. If you select Remove for You, other people in the chat will still see the messages in their chat screen.